Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

can't boot into elementary OS after pram reset on mac

Straitsfan
Straitsfan Posts: 1
edited December 2016 in Getting Started with Linux

I apologize for my ignorance, but i'm new to EOS/Linux. And i thought i'd post here, I haven't had any response on another forum specifcially for EOS.

I had to reset the PRAM on my MB Pro the other day. I had EOS installed, and it would automatically boot to it (still hadn't figured out how to get the GRUB loader). I would have to hold down the option key to get the choice to boot El Capitan.

Anyway, after the reset it automatically boots into OS X. I thought i had erased EOS but when I attached the USB stick in order to reinstall it, it noted that EOS was already on the machine. I didn't install and took a look at GPARTED, and sure enough there it was, with the swap file and everything. In OS Disk Utility it showed the mac partition and the other partition for EOS, but was called 'unidentified.' 

So to my mind there has to be a way to be able to boot into EOS, but I don't know how to do this. Can someone help me out here? If you need more info let me know.

Here's what I can tell you so far after some replies:

I just turned on the mac after inserting the usb stick with EOS on it (i think its an iso file). When I hold down the option key I get either the mac partition or the usb stick (which is called EFI boot). I choose that one, and now I'm looking at the GNU Grub screen, with the the choices to 

Try elementary OS without installing

Install Elementary OS

OEM install (for manufacturers)

Check disc for errors

There's no rescue here (which i've been advised to try) obviously. So if I choose install, which I think is what you mean, then I get the welcome screen with a language choice