Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Dual OS question

Kitbashinfo
Kitbashinfo Posts: 1
edited December 2016 in New to Linux

Hello everybody ! I'm a digital artist, which means that I need to constatly search for google hi-res images of textures , photos etc. The problem is that I'm on windows and after a while my PC gets slow, plus I'm  affraid of catching viruses. I was wondering  if is it a good idea to install some form of Linux on a Windows PC. And use linux to  image search , then transfer the images i saved to my working windows PC via USB ? The second question is can you recommend me linux version which would be suitable for this task. Thanks !

Comments

• First thing I would do is investigate what could be causing your windows system to slow down. It could be an app that is comsuming too much memory, an app that lunches automatically when your PC boots but hides in the background, or just a lot of activities. Check your windows system monitoring tools to diagnos what is going on within your computer. Installing Linux for a problem that can easily be fixed is not efficient. 

However, you can try any flavor of Linux if you want. Linux can be tested running straight from system memory and a boot CD. Nothing needs to be installed. A good fail-safe just for testing things out. Linux also has some image manipulation software. Play with some of those to get a feel for open source.