Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Best alternative to Windows 10

Options
devonroy
devonroy Posts: 1
edited October 2016 in New to Linux

Please can you advise me as to the best alternative to Windows 10, I am no computer expert, just require some thing that is simple and works without all the updates and other rubbish that I do not want on Win 10, plus it keeps locking up.

Basicinformation about my computer:

Windows edition

Windows 10 Home

© 2016 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. System

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4460 CPU © 3.20GHz 3.20 GHz

Installed memory (RAM): 8.00 GB (7.81 GB usable)

System type: 64-bit Operating System, x64-based processor

Pen and Touch: No Pen or Touch Input is available for this Display

Computer name, domain and workgroup settings Computer name: DESKTOP-33QP40S Full computer name: DESKTOP-33QP40S Computer description: Workgroup: WORKGROUP Enter a short description...

Comments

• AzShuvo
    AzShuvo Posts: 1
    edited November 2016
    Options

Windows 10 to Top 10 Linux Distro (Windows alternative)

1. Ubuntu (Youtube Video)

Obviously, Ubuntu was going to be at the top of the list. But why did I put it at the top of the list? First, look at the distro's history. Ubuntu has done more to put desktop Linux into the hands of the common man than any other distribution out there.

2. Linux Mint (Youtube Video)

If you're looking into a fixed released based on Ubuntu, but with a few tweaks under the hood...then Linux Mint might be a good match for you.

3. PCLinuxOS (Youtube Video)

– In addition to being a cousin to the once famed Mandriva (Mandrake) Linux distro, PCLinuxOSis without any question in my mind the ultimate KDE based rolling release distro for those who would normally prefer a fixed release

4. elementary OS (Youtube Video)