Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Newbie here! Salutations! ^-^

FarbodAzima
FarbodAzima Posts: 3
edited September 2016 in Off Topic

Hey Everyone! 

I'm very new to Linux and I started it like 3 days ago. I'm running Elementary OS Loki and my specs are as followed:

GTX780Ti, Intel i7-3770k, 32GB RAM, 250GB SSD (Linux) and 500GB SSD (Windows10) with 4TB (Storage)

I came into Linux with the mindset of "I'm bored... I wana learn something New today... Let's try Linux!" and I expected the OS to be different but I had no idea it was going to be THAT different on my first day. One thing I took noticed when I started was the fact that unlike Windows and OSX operating systems. where you install them and you get a stable, out-of-the-box experience in terms of the User Interface, Linux OS is NOT designed that way at all. In fact the entire Operating System with Linux incuding features and it's User Interface is 100% modular!!! Every feature and every part of the UI is essentially a different program which can be removed/replaced with another! Now I see what they mean by "Totally customizable" lol...  It took me like an hour to figure this out and when I did boy did I get excited!! You see on Windows I use 3rd party programs to modify my UI but on Linux I can just remove parts of the UI and install a new program that replaced it which is so much COOLER!