Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Exercise 3.2 - Add compute host

Hello,

I have problem with exercise 3.2. I log in to compute-node, run apt-get update and then install vim and git forllowing:

git clone https://git.openstack.org/openstack-dev/devstack

I then edit local.conf and copy the values from Lab Notes. I have:

[...]

HOST_IP=192.168.97.2    # <<--  compute-node IP address

FIRST_HOST=192.168.97.1 # <<--  devstack-cc IP address

[...]




I run ./devstack.sh on compute node and it completes successfully. When I log in to the devstack-cc node first as user developer1, add an instance, and then log out and log in as admin, I don't see seconnd hypervisor nor compute node anywhere.

What would be best way to find out if compute-node ever connects with first-node (devstack-cc)?

The IPs look correct but I don't see any connections.

Thank you!

 

Comments

  • neghtedari
    neghtedari Posts: 12
    edited August 2016

    I'm in the learning process myself so I hope I'm not misleading you, forgive me if I am ;

    Based on other topics in this blog, it seems that they are recommending that we use a more stable devstack version rather than the one mentioned in our lab documents :

    for cloning, the suggestion is to use :

     git clone https://git.openstack.org/openstack-dev/devstack -b stable/liberty

     

    for local.conf file, I suggest you remove or comment out the  following line :

    FIXED_RANGE=10.10...

     

    This is what I used and it worked fine for me :

     

    [[local|localrc]]

    HOST_IP=192.168.97.2

    FIRST_HOST=192.168.97.1

    FLAT_INTERFACE=eth0

    FIXED_NETWORK_SIZE=4096

    MULTI_HOST=1

    LOGFILE=/opt/stack/logs/stack.sh.log

    ADMIN_PASSWORD=openstack

    MYSQL_PASSWORD=DB-secret

    RABBIT_PASSWORD=MQ-secret

    SERVICE_PASSWORD=SERVICE-secret

    SERVICE_TOKEN=ALongStringUsuallyHere

    DATABASE_TYPE=mysql

    SERVICE_HOST=$FIRST_HOST

    MYSQL_HOST=$FIRST_HOST

    RABBIT_HOST=$FIRST_HOST

    GLANCE_HOSTPORT=$FIRST_HOST:9292

    ENABLED_SERVICES=n-cpu,n-net,c-vol

    NOVA_VNC_ENABLED=True

    NOVNCPROXY_URL="http://$FIRST_HOST:6080/vnc_auto.html"

    VNCSERVER_LISTEN=$HOST_IP

    VNCSERVER_PROXYCLIENT_ADDRESS=$VNCSERVER_LISTEN

     

  • elsonico
    elsonico Posts: 7
    edited August 2016

    Only difference to thre one on Lab Notes seem to be that yours is missing below two lines: 


    FIXED_RANGE=10.10.128.0/20
    FLOATING_RANGE=192.168.100.128/25


    Well, I will try anyway.
  • elsonico
    elsonico Posts: 7
    edited August 2016

    Unortunately no change. I removed FIXED_RAGE and FLOATING_RANGE from ~/devstack/local.conf ran ./unstack.sh && ./clean.sh && ./stack.sh



    received:

    [...]


    =========================
    DevStack Component Timing
    =========================
    Total runtime 137

    run_process 13
    apt-get-update 15
    pip_install 55
    wait_for_service 0
    apt-get 7
    =========================



    This is your host IP address: 192.168.97.2
    This is your host IPv6 address: ::1

    For whatever reason, when connecting to devstack-cc, compute-node is neither available on compute nodes nor can I see more than one hypervisor.

    Thanks.

  • Did you use the stable version of devstack ?

    git clone https://git.openstack.org/openstack-dev/devstack -b stable/liberty

    I tried it again and it works for me,... 

  • elsonico
    elsonico Posts: 7
    edited September 2016

    I missed that. I did think it actually before I tried even first time, but then I decided just to follow the docs. I will try this next,

  • Yes that was the thing, thank you!

    If any of the admins are reading this, please update the docs, since the Labs don't work if you follow the docs exactly as they are at the moment.

  • On page 2 of 3.2 lab excercise, for Task 1, item4 the command needs to be applied as below:

    ubuntu@compute-node: ~$ cd devstack

    ubuntu@compute-node: ~/devstack$ ./stack.sh

    Hope this helps.

     

  • hs8746
    hs8746 Posts: 4
    edited September 2016

    My before and after ip output is as below:

    ubuntu@compute-node:~$ cat ip.before.out

    1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group defau

    lt

        link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00

        inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo

           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

        inet6 ::1/128 scope host

           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

    2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP g

    roup default qlen 1000

        link/ether bc:76:4e:04:5d:26 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

        inet 192.168.97.2/24 brd 192.168.97.255 scope global eth0

           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

        inet6 fe80::be76:4eff:fe04:5d26/64 scope link

           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

    ubuntu@compute-node:~$ cat ip.after.out

    1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group defau

    lt

        link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00

        inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo

           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

        inet 169.254.169.254/32 scope link lo

           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

        inet6 ::1/128 scope host

           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

    2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP g

    roup default qlen 1000

    link/ether bc:76:4e:04:5d:26 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

        inet 192.168.97.2/24 brd 192.168.97.255 scope global eth0

           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

        inet6 fe80::be76:4eff:fe04:5d26/64 scope link

           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

    3: virbr0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOW

    N group default

        link/ether 2a:ed:56:d4:db:69 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

        inet 192.168.122.1/24 brd 192.168.122.255 scope global virbr0

           valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

    ubuntu@compute-node:~$

    I tried all above mentioned ip to open a browser and point it at the public IP Address of your devstack-cc node.

    Nothing is working. Which IP I should be pointing that too.

     

  • serewicz
    serewicz Posts: 1,000
    edited September 2016

    Hello,

    Thank you for the note. I will update the prompt to represent to correct directory to be in. If you follow the commands you would change into the directory back in item 2. Thank you for the content note. 

  • serewicz
    serewicz Posts: 1,000
    edited September 2016

    Hello,

    The Horizon BUI is running on the devstack-cc. You have run the above commands on the compute-node instead. Typically the most numerous type of node are dedicated to running the virtual machines and would not have other services, such as Horizon, installed or running. Use the public IP of the devstack-cc node, and you should be able to access Horizon.

    Let us know if this does not work.

    Regards,

  • Abdenour7496
    Abdenour7496 Posts: 9
    edited October 2016

    I am doing the course in October and still having this same problem, i have used cd >devstack and run the ./stack.sh script form there and all went well. The problem is i cannot access the BUI of the devstack-cc from its public IP which is 192.168.97.1 according to the instruction on the lab3.2 sheet. I tried a couple of clean install by running ./unstack.sh &./clean.sh as recommanded and everytime no horizon BUI on the public address of the devstack-cc.

    Any help will be very appreciated,

    regards

     

  • serewicz
    serewicz Posts: 1,000

    To access the BUI during lab3.2 you will need to use the public IP, not a private IP.

    The address you pasted, 192.168.97.1, is not the public ip, but the internal, private IP. Follows is an example from a lab I just started. Note that eth2 shows the IP you mention. The public IP address would be found under eth0. Your IP will be different. I have modified the public IP with XXX.YYY to make it more obvious in the output. Use the full IP that shows on YOUR machine instead.  


    ubuntu@devstack-cc:~$ ip a 1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00 inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever inet 169.254.169.254/32 scope link lo valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever inet6 ::1/128 scope host valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever 2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP group default qlen 1000 link/ether bc:76:4e:04:a8:d7 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff inet 166.78.XXX.YYY/24 brd 166.78.48.255 scope global eth0 valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever inet6 2001:4800:7811:513:be76:4eff:fe04:a8d7/64 scope global valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever inet6 fe80::be76:4eff:fe04:a8d7/64 scope link valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever 3: eth1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP group default qlen 1000 link/ether bc:76:4e:04:b1:06 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff inet 10.100.32.35/20 brd 10.100.47.255 scope global eth1 valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever inet6 fe80::be76:4eff:fe04:b106/64 scope link valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever 4: eth2: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state UP group default qlen 1000 link/ether bc:76:4e:04:9e:dc brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff inet 192.168.97.1/24 brd 192.168.97.255 scope global eth2 valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever inet6 fe80::be76:4eff:fe04:9edc/64 scope link valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever 5: virbr0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state DOWN group default link/ether 9a:4c:23:a7:39:b3 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff inet 192.168.122.1/24 brd 192.168.122.255 scope global virbr0 valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever ubuntu@devstack-cc:~$

     

  • Abdenour7496
    Abdenour7496 Posts: 9
    edited October 2016

    Thanks for the reply, for anyone who made the same mistake i made ( see above,) to fix this problem you need to exit the node environment by typing "EXIT" this will take you back to the devstack cc environment, here you can lookup the "eth0" which is the public ip for the destack, just issue this command "ip addr show eth0". This solved my problem.

    Mybe there are other issues that will affect your labenvironment aswell so becarefull and keep learning!!

    I realy do not mind the little mistakes here and there in the instructions because it makes the learning more effective. BUT the lab environment need to be more responsive and stable for this course to reach its potential.

    I do hope this small input helps

    thank you very much to the staff and all the learners here.

Categories

Upcoming Training