Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Looking for a distro... (Arch like - Distrohopper)

Options
Akdom
Akdom Posts: 5
edited November 2014 in Getting Started with Linux

Hi!

I'm not really a linux beginner but I'm looking for a distro and I though here would be a good place to start :)

Warning: This post is longer that I intended it to be, and since my head is kind of confused, this post may be hard to follow hehe.

Let's start by the distro I tried so far:

- Linux Mint (slow, but nice)

- Ubuntu (too main stream, incorporated, blahblah)

- Debian (amazing)

- CentOS (... not sure what it is)

- Arch Linux (nice but breaks all the time)

- Atergos (slow but it is arch, premade)

- Chakra OS (didnt try it for long, maybe I'll give it more time)

- KaOS (wierd)

- Mageia (kind of cool, but looks like baby-ubuntu)

- OpenSUSE (weird)

- Maybe I forgot some of them

The point is, none of them really "fit" what I'm looking for, or maybe I didn't look at the right place.

What I would like:

I'm looking for a distro which come with nothing (Like Arch Linux) but doesn't break every time you do an update (like Arch Linux haha). I do like Arch because it is fully customisable but I always need to look which version of which package is compatible with which other package to make sure my computer will boot the next time I come back from work.

I would like to install what I need, when I need it and be able to update without the arch headache.

I came across Slackware but I would need to compile every package and every time there's an update about a core package or just an app, I would need to check the dependencies, compile those dependencies, then compile the main app and I think it might get time consuming pretty fast.