Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

whats a good version of linux to start with?

I'm done with windows have virtualbox installed and want to try Linux what's best to start with?

Comments

• arochester
    arochester Posts: 368
    edited November 2015
  • rgand
    rgand Posts: 17
    I'm also new to Linux. That makes me a noob, not an expert so take my advice with a grain of salt.

That said, I cruised a few threads here and chose Linux Lite. It's working good and I'm picking up what to do at a comfortable rate. The forum members here have been very helpful when I need direction.
  • Helge
    Helge Posts: 1
    Try Zorin-os.I also worked with it and I mean its the best for Linux-Beginners because
    it looks like Windows.
  • Thinking_Monkey
    Thinking_Monkey Posts: 4
    edited November 2015
    Hi ricoq18,

Asking what distro of Linux to use is an extremely hard question to answer. After you've tried several, you'll see what I mean. It's hard to pick a favorite.

I used Linux way back in the day and have recently started up again and there have been wonderful changes.

Back then (and there are plenty still around) the hard core Linux users despised any kind of graphical desktop. To use anything but the terminal (command line, console, it has many names) was pure blasphemy and an outrage to the natural order of things.

Now the fact is, and I hope I don't get flamed too badly or kicked off the forums altogether, all the most popular and widely used distributions have graphical desktops. Many, many choices of WHICH graphical desktop, too.

I'm going to go out on a limb (unwisely, I'm sure) and say that the terminal-only operating systems are going by the wayside. Why issue long, complex, hard to remember commands at the command line when you can click 2 buttons to do the same thing?

"The terminal is much much, much, more powerful than any graphical interface!!", they'll say.