Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Beaten up by Windows - please help

Hello everyone,

I am new to Linux, and I am hoping to have just a leisurely conversation about switching from windows. I will find answers to specific questions hopefully with a search here, but I may still ask anyway.

I want to start with a frustrating rant...why can't Microsoft just get the simple things right? I have a 3 day old Surface 3 which is going through a reset right now since it won't stay connected to any wifi router. It also won't sync favorites across multiple machines with the dandy new "edge" browser. Additionally, it won't store my 8gigs of OneDrive files on a microSD card.

Why are they so out of touch with how (I think) most people want to use their portable computers? And WHY, why can't they get the simplest things to work first? I see their ads about virtual reality, and all the new creepy stuff windows 10 will do...but it won't $&#*$%^ connect to wifi reliably.

Anyway, after 20 years of windows, and recent problems with both windows 8 and now windows 10, I am finally at the end of my rope. For me to have to sit and troubleshoot windows for entire weekends at a time just to get basic services working is NO LONGER ACCEPTABLE TO ME. I have to get something that just works.

I partitioned a 100gig space on my desktop PC and installed 17.2 Mint. (I had time issues though and windows would be off by 5 hours. Using a registry hack to make it use GMT instead of local caused syncing issues on everything including OneDrive and password authentication with OneNote.)I JUST CANT WIN.

It's like they don't want me to use windows, every time I turn around Microsoft punches me in the jewels.