Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Done with Microsoft

:unsure:

Im a newbie w/ Linux, I have Yellow Dog on my PS3 and Love it more then the XMB by Sony. I want to convert ALL my home PCs to one version of linux or another, but I need to know where to start. I need lots of help with gettign started.

First off, how do i pick a Linux that is right for me??

Im a tattoo Artist so i would need something that would be good for image editing. Also i need a media player, music and art are my life.

Can someone help me???

Thank You

Rob Smith

River of Blood Tattoos

MCL

Comments

• Dic_Faygo
    Dic_Faygo Posts: 7
    OH and is there anyway to turn a Rogers Samsung Jack from windows mobile to Linux??? that would be too cool!!!!!
  • I tried out an Ubuntu distribution on live cd as my first Linux distro. Then I tried Debian, and now I'm using Linux Mint 7 - which I love so far.

Installing is easy. The only issues I had were with my wireless internet, but that was nothing that some reading and experimenting couldn't fix.

I guess my advice based on personal experience is that everyone likes a given Linux distro for their own personal reasons. You kind of have to try them out and see what you like. All this stuff is customizable anyway. Start by running it on a LiveCD....then maybe dual booting before wiping out your Windows OS.
  • Set_Killer
    Set_Killer Posts: 31
    Dont install same distro on all your pcs. on one you can install ubuntu, on other mandriva, on other opensuse - until you find your best distro. Here you will find wich distro is hot. Sabayon looks fancy.

For music you can use Audacious, Totem, XMMS2

For movies you can use gnome-mplayer (kmplayer) {mplayer}, Xine, VLC.

For drawing the best programs are Gimp, Incscape. And also Photoshop works in Wine, think so.
  • Dic_Faygo