Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

World of Warcraft on Linux!

I have a Lenovo Quad Core computer that had Win 7, but the hard drive has failed. I am trying to figure out which Linux OS would be the best to run World of Warcraft. Has anyone else ran it and had good luck? I had Ubuntu on one computer but I am still new to Linux, so I put XP on that computer back then. I am going back to putting Ubuntu back on it, since it is a back up, but my main computer for gaming I would like to run Linux as well, not paying Microshaft any more money to not help me. I also have a laptop with Vista I am going to put Linux on as well. But anyway, any help on playing WoW on Linux, please help. Any help is greatly appreciated. Make a Linux believer out of me!!!

Comments

• I am not a big fan of World of WarCraft and I have never installed it on Ubuntu or any Linux OS. I will do the best I can to assist.

I did some research and found some instructions that outlines the process of installing World of WarCraft on ubuntu.

Firstly, you will need to install wine, which is available in your Ubuntu repositories.
    sudo apt-get install wine

You do not have to use a PPA package, only if you choose to do so.

Also, WoW 64bit has been reported to crash a lot. Though, there is a work around, running WoW 32bit seems to be the better choice.

These instructions will tell you how to install WoW using wine. It is mostly done from the command line.
    Installing World of WarCraft

If you are GUI guy, then you can follow these instructions which mostly outlines the same procedures.
    Installing WoW using wine

Good luck with World of WarCraft.