Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Help Please, Problem installing Ubuntu...

Hello everyone and thank you for taking the time to read this as well as reply (if you do).

So, I'm new to Linux. Well, relatively, I haven't used it since the early 90's but now I'm pursuing my Engineering degree in computers and electronics so I figured it's time to start refreshing my memory as well as learning the system all over again.

Anyway, the problem:

I downloaded, created a cd and installed Ubuntu on my 3rd drive (it's an 80 gig that was basically wasting space). The install process went fine but after reboot, I got an error that I'm sure is not uncommon (based on the internet searches I've done) but I think my problem is somewhat unique since I can't find the resolution to it.

I received the treacherous "no such device..... grub rescue" message after my first reboot and have not been able to dance around it other than by telling my BIOS to disable SATA-0 & SATA-2.

I have 3 hard drives installed on my computer. 1 is Windows 8.1 pro, 2 is Windows 7 Ultimate and 3 is currently unoccupied. 3 is where I had it installed but since then I have removed Unbutu from it via deleting the partition and wiping the disk. So I am prepared to redo the process but first I need to fix the current damage to my computer from this install.

As I stated, I have 3 hard drives with 2 different operating systems. I cannot access one of them. Even though I have removed the partition for the Unbuntu and wiped the disk, when I allow my BIOS to run SATA-0 (the Windows 8 disk) I get the same error message and am not able to run Windows. I do have multi-boot set and it used to work fine, until this error. I did not receive any ill-effects to my Windows 7 hard drive and it boots fine but my Windows 8 hard drive will not boot.