Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Transfering files from MAC to remote server

Options

I am very new to linux and I fear I may have done something stupid. I use a MAC which operates on OSX Tiger 10.4.11.

First of all, I am trying to use software on a remote server, and at one point I could open the software on my computer. I had to authenticate with a password to access the remote server. Unfortunately, I need to access data that is on my personal computer, and not on the remote server. I installed some freeware that uses sshfs and that went well. Then, I attempted to install software that would make use of my MAC keychain to automatically log me into the remote server. When installing with the software, I entered:

ssh www.sshkeychain.org (the website for the software)

and I was warned that the security was not verified but asked if I wanted to continue. I said yes. Then it asked for a password and my administrative and keychain password did not work. I fear I have left my computer wide open for someone to access.

Further, when I now log into the remote server, it tells me:

Warning: No xauth data; using fake authentication data for X11 forwarding.

This didn't happen before. Also, I can't access the software on the server, whereas I could before I used the

ssh www.sshkeychain.org

command.

Have I jeopardized my computer? How can I get rid of the fake authentication warning and once again use the software on the remote server? Finally, How can I get files from my computer into my user file on the remote server?

If anyone is able to help, I thank you in advance.

Droovy

Comments

• atreyu
    atreyu Posts: 216
    Options
    I use ssh to go to and from computers (Linux/Windows) a lot, and I prefer to use SSH keys, instead of passwords. I've never done this on a Mac, but the theory is the same and I think it will work. If you prefer to use SSHKeychain - I can't help.