Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Gaming linux to run like a program

Austinll
Austinll Posts: 4
edited March 2013 in Installation

Hey guys. Sorry I'm a complete noob about Linux. I'm looking for a Linux that's great for gaming, but i want to be able to run it like a windows program. I saw that lucid puppy could do so, but how is the OS? also, I NEED it to be able to run like a windows program because i want to run games like fallout 3 at school, but i can install an entire OS onto a computer, get it? also if there is an ability to do this, i need it to be a non high user level type program(like needing to run as ADMIN) because that's not an option. any help would be vastly appreciated. Also it needs to be fully operational off of a flash drive, though i may be able to put a few files onto the computer, but not installing anything to conspicuous.

*edit---

I recently saw that linux OS's arnt able to efficiently run windows based games alone, but i still need the OS. I recently saw that you can dual boot, but every dual boot description i saw required you to install to the computer, and as stated above, i cannot do so. is it possible to dual boot without installing to the computer, possibly by installing to the flashdrive only? and if i dual boot will that transfer over any of the admin setting over to the linux? I need to be admin to play any decent games, and this is the only way i can do so.

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Please don't let this discourage you from trying Linux based systems, but I do not approve of your reason and will remind you that your actions taken to attempt to work around established IT policies can easily backfire. With that said you have had some good questions that I will answer in hopes that you will learn something and use it for a positive project.