Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Source code - compiler - hardware - kernel OS

Sir
Sir Posts: 2
edited December 2012 in Getting Started with Linux

I apologize in advance for the "simple" questions I'm going to do and I hope do not irritate the experts so please have patience .... even I read linux's articles on the internet I'm lost about this concepts ....

How you have realised I am just a beginner and I would like to get myself in the linux world ... but .... first to try with the command line, etc. ... I was trying to understand what happens when I install a Distro via CD. I read that the kernal [core] that is created comes from the interaction of sources code and the work of the compiler that fits them to the hardware present on the machine .... Is it correct?

I was wondering, what really happens when I insert the CD and install a distro? What files are in the cd?

Aware that it is very complicated >> How can I create a custom distro's cd for a server?

What means compile a program?

thanks in advance

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    The kernel is a compiled collection of drivers that control how your hardware interacts and how software is to interact with the hardware. When you load a LiveCD it loads the kernel and all included applications just as it would in a physical installations. Now, when you install the distro, it installed the kernel, libraries and applications in there workable forms which may or may not be compiled (based upon the development core). Some distros ship the source code in the installation disks, but many do not as the requirement is to have it available and accessible and they keep it online until you download it.

Compiling a program is when you use a code compiler to convert the human-readable source code to the machine readable binary instructions.

Are you wanting to just build a liveCD or are you truly looking at having a custom operating system with specific components installed on your server(s)?