Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

best Linux for architects

Options

Hello!

I am an architect in a small firm that barely manages, and I'm trying to avoid costly CAD software by switching to cheaper and free programs and applications. I never considered Linux before because AutoCAD - the main drafting program - hasn't been known to work on Linux.

However, things change dramatically since I've tried to work in DraftSight and decided to test out several other linux-compatible alternatives. ( http://www.osalt.com/autocad )

I would like to try switching to Linux now and have the following questions:

1. Which Linux distribution works best with graphic-intensive software? (supports graphic cards - although not the highest end)

2. Which Linux distribution would you recommend for me as a user? - I have never used Linux or DOS, but I've had to learn at least a dozen complex drafting programs in the last decade, I used to be able to write HTML and use other people's PHP scripts too. I'm prepared to take a few months to test it and get used to it.

Grateful for answers,

Hra

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Options
    Almost any Linux flavour would allow you to install and run the Linux versions of CAD software. It's more the hardware that you're using, than the version of the Linux operating system that will work best with graphic intensive software.
    I use Fedora myself, and, am able to run Blender (3D graphics program) and have occasionally run 3D games successfully. I use the Open Source graphics drivers to accomplish this. With a Nvidia card, it's the nouveau driver.
    Some folks think that the Open Source drivers aren't up to the task yet, because they don't include all the capabilities and run slower than the Nvidia proprietary drivers. If you intend on using a CAD application, you might feel the same way, but, I would at least try Linux with the Open Source drivers first, and, see how they perform in your work environment.