Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

New Linux

Hello Everyone.

I am new to Linux, I did play with what was called Lindows many years ago and not really dug deep into it until in the last six months which I did use Ubuntu 11.10 and now using CentOs 6.2. I in April got my associate degree in networking and now working on my bachelors degree and I have found out a lot of schools just simply do not teach Linux just mainly Windows. I am looking for a job and coming across that want people to know a lot of Linux mainly Red Hat and be certified in it. Someone told me that CentOS 6.2 is like Red Hat. The question I have can I learn from using CentOS and still be able to pass the Red Hat certifications using this OS? How similar is CentOS and Red Hat? Or should I learn a different OS to. Let me know what you think.

Dale

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Centos IS RedHat, or should I say, it is created by recompiling the RedHat source code. Except for proprietary images, and possibly a few tweaks that the developers feel necessary, it is in effect the same as using RedHat.

If you're using Centos to study for a RedHat certification, you'll be doing what many have done before you. Have fun.
  • dale1966
    dale1966 Posts: 17
    Hello

Thanks for the response that is all I need to know. Thanks again.

Dale Henderson
  • Hi, I'm doing a similar thing as the OP.

My question is how do I wipe my old hard drive before I install Linux?

I am not worried about any data on the hard drive and am running Linux from a pen-drive as I type.

Laptop has factory vista on it.
  • Goineasy9
    During the install process you will be given options for repartitioning and formatting of your hard drive. You don't need to do it before the install.
  • Oh. How cool is that!

Thank you, your awesome!
  • dale1966
    dale1966 Posts: 17