Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Linux Lite Won't Install

I'll keep this as short as possible. I'm fairly new to Linux and have very successfully put Linux Lite 2.6 with a dual boot on two older Toshiba laptops. Confident with what I'd done so far, I decided to finally go with the same on my main computer which is an Asus G75V. To avoid any chance of loosing all my personal data, I cloned the drive onto a new SSHD 1Tb drive I bought just to get this computer up with the best possible drive in it.

When I had the computer apart to swap to the new drive, I installed a second HDD for extra data storage then booted to the install disk and gave LL a try. It worked OK from the disk boot with only one minor issue so I thought I'd install it and then work that out. This was a dismal failure. Nothing would boot up at all. The drive was dead. I changed back to the original drive (thank goodness I had the wisdom to start with a clone) and re-cloned the drive again. This time, I left the second HDD out in case it had been a problem.

The second try was unsuccessful and it would boot to Windows with error messages. It also wanted to do a disk check at boot up, which I cancelled and went on. I thought maybe the problem was the SSHD so I found a smaller SATA drive and decided to use that. I cloned the original to the SSHD for a future install and then cloned the SATA drive and tried again.

The third try was also a bad install and I went online to find out what gives. Two days before there had been a release of Linux Lite 2.8 so I tried that this time thinking that some issue had been corrected.