Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Home Lab Setup

Hello Everyone,

I tried looking through other posts but really didn't see what I was looking for so I thought I'd ask.

I am currently a college student working on an A.S. in CIS, and will be pursuing a B.S. in IT. I am currently taking Intro to Linux classes (although I would consider myself an intermediate user from before school), but I do have shell scripting and Linux administration classes coming up this year. I also have plans to work towards an RHCSA, and of course an LFS201. Although all this education is great, its useless without hands-on practical experience.

I am looking to create my own home lab to kind of make my self familiar with setting up, and performing administration tasks in a Linux, or even mix Linux/Windows environment. Things like user creation and maintenance, policy and permissions, web servers, print servers, DNS, your typical basic small office network with end users.

Does anyone have any suggestions on where to start? What are the most important functions to learn? What are the most common setups or networks in a Linux environment? My goals is to work as a sysadmin, as I kind of work as a junior admin right now and love it! Currently I work in a pure Windows environment though so what knowledge I am gaining is good in a sense of administration, but not experience with Linux.

Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thank you

Comments

• Hi Tony,

Did you find the way to get your home practical training ?

Currently, I am in the same situation. I mean I would like to build my own lab in order to practice linux servers administration but unfortunately I did not find significant posts on internet.

I recently found out that the rental of a dedicated server could be a solution but actually I am not ready to pay rental costs and taking the risk of being in technical trouble with the remote server.