Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Lab environnement Visualiser problem

adrien6910
adrien6910 Posts: 10
edited May 2023 in LFS269 Class Forum

Hello,

I have set up the lab but the Visualizer: Kubernetes Operational View does not display any information from my Kube cluster.

I tested on 4 browsers : Brave, Edge, Firefox and Chrome.

I noticed that the repository of the creator was here : https://codeberg.org/hjacobs/kube-ops-view
I tested but I can't get it to work.

Attached is a screenshot of the problem with the LAB version: https://github.com/schoolofdevops/kube-ops-view

It's like the Kubernetes Operational View POD can't talk to the kubernetes cluster to get the information

Comments

  • adrien6910
    adrien6910 Posts: 10

    More detail :

    It's in Lab 3. Setting Up Your Lab Environment --> Set Up the Visualiser

    $ lsb_release -a
    No LSB modules are available.
    Distributor ID: Ubuntu
    Description: Ubuntu 20.04.6 LTS
    Release: 20.04
    Codename: focal

    $ kubectl version
    WARNING: This version information is deprecated and will be replaced with the output from kubectl version --short. Use --output=yaml|json to get the full version.
    Client Version: version.Info{Major:"1", Minor:"27", GitVersion:"v1.27.1", GitCommit:"4c9411232e10168d7b050c49a1b59f6df9d7ea4b", GitTreeState:"clean", BuildDate:"2023-04-14T13:21:19Z", GoVersion:"go1.20.3", Compiler:"gc", Platform:"linux/amd64"}
    Kustomize Version: v5.0.1
    Server Version: version.Info{Major:"1", Minor:"26", GitVersion:"v1.26.3", GitCommit:"9e644106593f3f4aa98f8a84b23db5fa378900bd", GitTreeState:"clean", BuildDate:"2023-03-30T06:34:50Z", GoVersion:"go1.19.7", Compiler:"gc", Platform:"linux/amd64"}

  • luisviveropena
    luisviveropena Posts: 1,128

    Hi @adrien6910, ok, thanks for the information. I'll take a look at this and will provide you an update.

    Regards,
    Luis.

  • adrien6910
    adrien6910 Posts: 10

    $ flux version
    flux: v2.0.0-rc.1
    kustomize-controller: v1.0.0-rc.1
    source-controller: v1.0.0-rc.1

    $ kustomize version
    v5.0.1

    $ kind version
    kind v0.18.0 go1.20.2 linux/amd64

  • luisviveropena
    luisviveropena Posts: 1,128

    Hi @adrien6910, unfortunately I couldn't reproduce the issue on my system. It worked for me at the first try.

    1.- Are you working locally in your system, in a VM or in a cloud system?

    2.- I got the following when deployed the app:

    kubectl apply -f kube-ops-view/deploy
    serviceaccount/kube-ops-view created
    clusterrole.rbac.authorization.k8s.io/kube-ops-view created
    clusterrolebinding.rbac.authorization.k8s.io/kube-ops-view created
    deployment.apps/kube-ops-view created
    ingress.networking.k8s.io/kube-ops-view created
    service/kube-ops-view created

    ==> Did you you get the last line, where it says that the service has been created?

    3.- Do you see the node with port number 32000?

    kubectl get pods,svc
    NAME READY STATUS RESTARTS AGE
    pod/kube-ops-view-866b7bf788-ljvxv 1/1 Running 0 22s

    NAME TYPE CLUSTER-IP EXTERNAL-IP PORT(S) AGE
    service/kube-ops-view NodePort 10.96.86.72 80:32000/TCP 22s
    service/kubernetes ClusterIP 10.96.0.1 443/TCP 32m

    Regards,
    Luis.

  • adrien6910
    adrien6910 Posts: 10
    edited May 2023

    1.- Are you working locally in your system, in a VM or in a cloud system?
    I am using VM in cloud system (GCP)

    2.- I got the following when deployed the app: Yes

    Do you see the node with port number 32000?
    Yes. The port is open and answers well, as you can see in my first sreenshot i can open Kubernetes Operation View 0.9.1interface but all is black and i don't have information about my cluster.

  • gouravshah
    gouravshah Posts: 139

    @adrien6910

    This is an issue which I have seen happen with visualizer randomly. When it happens, there is no error emitted, and its not specific to any kind of environment either. This is a application bug with visualizer code(which is old), and in some cases it starts showing up the application after some time. I have attempted to do root cause analysis multiple times, with no avail so far. (For starters, you could start checking the logs from kube-ops-view-xxx pod).

    Why do we still use it? Well, it works for most of the time, and when it does, its a very useful tool.

  • adrien6910
    adrien6910 Posts: 10

    Hello,

    It is not an essential tool but it helps visually.
    I would do without it.

    Do you have an alternative application?

    Thank,

  • gouravshah
    gouravshah Posts: 139

    @adrien6910 I haven't found a good alternative to this yet. You may try deleting 'kubectl delete -f xxx' and then applying it again. At times it helps.

  • adrien6910
    adrien6910 Posts: 10
    edited May 2023

    @gouravshah, I have try 'kubectl delete -f xxx' several time with the result after new apply. i have create an other VM too.

    I would do without it.

  • luisviveropena
    luisviveropena Posts: 1,128

    Hi @adrien6910,

    Just in case, @gouravshah was referring to the following command:

    kubectl delete -f kube-ops-view/deploy

    Regards,
    Luis.

  • adrien6910
    adrien6910 Posts: 10

    Hi,

    The problem came from my antivirus (F-Secure): after setting the URL to exception, the page content was displayed correctly.

    Thank you for your help.
    Adrien.

  • luisviveropena
    luisviveropena Posts: 1,128

    Hi @adrien6910, it's good to know that you were able to find the fix!! And fortunately it wasn't related to the Kubernetes Operational View itself!!

    Regards,
    Luis.

Categories

Upcoming Training