Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

What is the takeaway from lab 4.1

I am new to C and fairly new to linux. What is the takeaway from the lab 4.1?

Comments

• coop
    coop Posts: 915

It shows you how many times you can handle particular signals and what order they are handled in.

• bfmcneill
    bfmcneill Posts: 14

so is it queuing up signals 1-64 and then emitting them FIFO?

• coop

the signals are sent out in order. How they handled and in what order is controlled by a bunch of factors, such as whether they are "real time" signals (> 32) or not (real time signals can queue up, ordinary signals do not) for example. The exact order they run is a kernel question which has varied with time. The answer is not really completely controlled by any standard.

• luisviveropena
    luisviveropena Posts: 1,144
    edited July 2020

Hi @bfmcneill ,

I used this small piece of code to make a test on a web session:

#include <stdio.h>
    #include <unistd.h>
    #include <signal.h>

/* This is a test that shows that a signal 2 (SIGINT can be
    handled. So, first CTRL+C it gives a message, then second
    time it receives it, the program is terminated.
    */

void my_signal_interrupt(int sig)
    {
      printf("I got signal %d\n", sig);
      (void) signal(SIGINT, SIG_DFL);
    }

int main()
    {
      (void) signal(SIGINT,my_signal_interrupt);

while(1) {
          printf("Waiting for interruption...\n");
          sleep(1);
      }
    }

So you can put that into a file, let's say signal_int.c and them compile it: gcc signal_int.c -o signal_int . Then run it: ./signal_int . Once it's running, on the same terminal hit CTRL+C once, and then a second time; on the second time the program will be terminated. It's a very simple test, of course.

Regards,
    Luis.

• GRO 108
    GRO 108 Posts: 46

Hi @luisviveropena and @coop ,
    I'm looking for some help to understand this better as well.