Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Recent malware Affecting Ubuntu and Firefox

Options

Hi; I'm not very good with forums and so those who read my comments here will have to forgive my ineptitude with html, etc.

In the past two weeks my Ubuntu machine, running Ubuntu v18.04.2 has been hit with multiple examples of malware that is being lodged in Firefox and appears to be write-protected so that Bleachbit cannot delete it.

I will list below some of the objects removed this past week by ClamTK:

Win.Trojan.Xored-1 (8-7)
Js.Coinminer.Generic-7104549-0 (8-8)
Win.Exploit.CVE_2012_1461-1 (8-6)
Win.Exploit.CVE_2012_1461-1 (8-4)
Win.Exploit.CVE_2012_1461-1 (8-2)
uBlock@raymondhill.net.xpi -- Js.Coinminer.Generic-7-10459-0 8-8-19
Win.Exploit.CVE_2012_1461-1 -- 8-9-19
uBlock@raymondhill.net.xpi -- Js.Coinminer.Generic-7104549-0 -- 2 examples 8-9-19
Firefox/ok1tk16v.default/cache2/doomed/1964705863 -- Win.Exploit.CVE_2012_1461-1

Some of the malware objects being removed by Clam were received DIRECTLY from the Raymond Hill ad blocker upon installation. Following scans using ClamTK the Raymond Hill object was deleted, which also deletes the ad blocker. Vicious circle. I've been forced to stop using the latter because of this. My second choice in ad blockers remains AdBlock Plus, which is now running in my Firefox.

Linux is no longer impervious to attacks, which thing is made clear by the foregoing.

My advice is to use caution browsing and run frequent scans with an antivirus/anti-malware program.

So far the only antivirus I've ever used has been the Cisco Systems' ClamAV.

I hope this helps.

Comments

• mike8144
    mike8144 Posts: 2
    edited August 2019
    Options

Greetings everyone!
    There is some good news to report. After installing the rootkit remover, chkrootkit and running scans in Terminal i was able to identify a number of malware 'sniffers' living in the usr/lib and other associated folders, and restore my machine!