Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

What Linux OS to start with (Details in post)

Options

I am fairly new to Linux, I've played around with it casually, but I've decided it's time to start learning. I'm a computer science major in college. I think I'm ready to make a full-time switch to Linux on my laptop, as I've been sort of unimpressed with Windows 8. I use my laptop mainly for college work, but I also play games in my downtime b/w classes.

When it comes to choosing an OS, there were far more options than I realized. I've been told Arch Linux is a top pick, and that it forces you to learn Linux. I've also been told it' anything but beginner friendly. So then I found archbang, which seems like they advertise it as arch linux for notebooks, but much simpler (or more prepackaged.) I also liked the sound of Bodhi Linux. I've also been told the lightweight nature of Lubuntu is good for laptops.

I am open to any suggestions. My main goal is to try and become proficient with use of Linux, and it's command terminal.

TL;DR: What OS should I put on my laptop for college use, and to learn linux.

Comments

• arochester
    arochester Posts: 368
    Options
    1) Choose the distro that YOU like and which suits YOUR computer, not what people suggest to you.

2) Do not throw the baby out with the bathwater. Keep Windows and have Linux by dual-booting. Eventually you might find that you are just using Linux and have no need of Windows, but don't dump Windows yet. You might want to recover it!

3) Look at: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Linux_distributions
    There are distros which are:
    Debian based (including Knoppix and Ubuntu)
    Gentoo based
    Pacman based (Arch)
    RPM based ( Fedora, Redhat, Mandriva and OpenSUSE)
    Slackaware based
    Others

Try Archbang. Try Bodhi Linux. Try Lubuntu.