Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

My Experience with Linux Mint 15 MATE DE-Problems

Otaku
Otaku Posts: 1
edited October 2013 in Getting Started with Linux

Hey fellow Linux-mates

I wanted to share some experiences that I had with my first Linux OS install.

I would like to start off with saying that I am not even close to being a novice user of Linux - I am still very new to the OS. I may be using terms that would be applicable towards Windows, and that I will try my best to use Linux terms.

This is my first post in the Linux Forums, I have not asked for any help, but instead I researched all the Ubuntu and Linux forums for all the problems I ran into - and there were so many problems.

To start - I first installed Ubuntu, and had so many problems - My wireless and wired drivers were not installed beforehand, and I could not use internet at ALL. Frustrated, I researched some options - and found that I would want to install Ubuntu Ultimate with the whole package (ndiswrapper included) or a Linux DE. I opted for Linux Mint 15 with the MATE desktop since it was the most stable so far. Upon my first install - it worked wonderfully. I decided to follow all the newbie reccomendations of messing with my OS - to learn my way around. I eventually broke it - and am still struggling to get it back to normal.