Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Linux Music System

Hello all, I'm new to Linux, have some mild Ubuntu experience, but in no way an expert. I am looking to build a system to play hosted music through on my stereo system. Essentially, I want to build a computer that will play music stored either on its drive or a network drive into my stereo system. I would like it to have a dedicated front end and be able to be remote controlled. In the best scenario, I would like to control it with a remote control app over Wi-fi from my BlackBerry.

I am wondering if there is anybody who has done such things, and/or if anyone has suggestions on how to achieve this. The OS will need to be fairly light as I have a small budget and will be recycling some older systems together to do this.

I have been looking at MythTV and Mythbuntu as solutions, but i have no need or desire for any of the video aspects of the system, it will be purely audio. Are there any better suited programs available?

Thank you for your input.

Comments

• Good Question.

Yes you can first experiment with VLC streaming options. For example you can setup a trial setup even at home with VLC.
    Here is the deep insight.

Step1: Setup
    You can setup a streaming server with VLC player. If you do this, this works much like a broadcasting system (I mean like you have radio stations, and TV broadcasts).

Step2: Content control, logos, titles (overlay content)
    You can even show some channel titles, via VLC overlay content. Assume you need to show a message as "myTV", on your VLC streaming, you can set this option in VLC, on top of your videos it should show that text.

Step3: Test VLC streaming players
    In other connected laptops, PCs (Windows /Linux systems does not matter), you can view this playback by using VLC streaming player options.

This way you can stream your local stored files (audio, video, AV content), pictures, and so on, CD/DVD content (supported by VLC), files in usb drive.