Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

How to become a Linux system administrator

I have heard a few suggestions, but I would like a few more. After all it will be quite an investment in time and money.

So far I have these:

Online school

Study on my own

Go to college

Fast paced training courses (all day for 5 days)

My problems with online school is that can they really be trusted and has anyone ever done online school? Is it worth it?

When I study on my own there are many things I don't know already and I am becoming very confused.

Going to college....I don't drive and there is no college close to me that offers Linux courses.

Fast paced training courses sound good, but can someone really retain all that knowledge in that short of time?

Keep in mind that I am completely new to this.

-Thanks in advance everyone

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    The best thing you can do is dig in and get some experience, you can't just come out of school to be a Linux admin as you can with windows, this is because much more knowledge is expected of Linux and Unix admins.

Online schools basically just asks you questions that you can answer with a quick google search, in most cases you don't need proof of skills, that combined with the lack Unix and Linux curriculums may make that a waste of money.

The fast-paced training courses are there for experienced users, if you do not have some familiarity with the subject then the data will go over your head.

My general recommendation is to setup virtual machines and implement various network services including dummy users to test capabilities, then once you are familiar with those skill get out there are volunteer to help non-profit organizations and companies with their tech issues. This will give you real-world experience with the technology and some references that you can use to start your resume.