Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Password reset for Ubuntu 10.10 RAID5 server

Options

My most sincere apologies if this is the wrong place to put this question but i'm a little desperate.

A friend was supposed to help me setup a Linux Server and after some time of not using the server because it was missing a drive i got tired of waiting and decided to rescue my data. Now i'm stuck at the login prompt and he has forgotten the user ID.

how can i recover the password for this server? I've done some looking up and there seems to be several methods, but i'm a total noob at Linux and I need step by step help. pleeeeeease.

thanks

Comments

• marc
    marc Posts: 647
    Options
    You need to access the hard drive whether it's placing it in another machine or booting from a LiveCD

From there, you must edit the files /etc/passwd and /etc/shadow and edit the lines for the user you want to change the password of. Write there *exactly* the same of a user that you haven't forgotten the password of (can be the same text from another computer).

Reboot the machine and you are ready to go :)

Regards
  • woboyle
    woboyle Posts: 501
    Options