Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Ubuntu Server and Windows question. SOLVED

Hey everyone, I have a question. I am currently a college student and Microsoft IT guy. I had a question regarding Ubuntu server security vs windows. I recently added a gui to my ubuntu server because I don't know what I am doing otherwise, lol.

But while I was searching for information on ubuntu server I saw a lot of people saying how guis are normally considered a security risk, and that a lot of people use something like webmin or whatever else to remotely log in with a gui.

So my question is this, how does a gui as a security risk compare to using a windows server which is all gui based ? Is it the same? Is there something with linux guis that makes them less safe then windows? Or is it safer then windows but still a risk?

Please help with my confusion, lol.

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    The reason that most Linux and unix server admins do not use GUIs on their servers is because all running software add potential faults, vulnerabilities and crashes. By reducing the quantity of applications that are being run you reduce the potential exploitable vulnerabilties and reduce the system resources in use.

A simple example would be to consider the following:

Webserver1 has the following installed:
    *Linux Kernel
    *bash
    *networking drivers
    *apache webserver
    *php

Webserver2:
    *Linux kernel
    *bash
    *networking drivers
    *apache webserver
    *php
    *gdm
    *x11
    *x11 libraries
    *xml parsers
    *gnome libraries
    *ubuntu update manager
    *gnome window manager
    *libcairo
    *gnome aplpications
    *firefox
    *etc...

Just a quick look at the list shows a great difference in the quantity of running application, which all can be searched on the web for security vulnerabilities, all of which can potentially cause a denial of service on the application layer or cause the cpu or memory to reach full load if exploited.