Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Linux installation help needed

I am a college student and I am getting ready to take a Linux class. The book I bought for the class came with Red Hat Linux disks. I have a Toshiba lap top with windows 7 and would like to make it dual boot. I created a 50g partition on my hard drive and set it to boot for the CD rom. Restart the computer and it comes up asking how I want to install (GUI or text based). I hit enter to do GUI the screen goes black and it appears like it is installing. It gets to "running /sbin/loader" and goes no father. I do not know what I need to do that I am not doing. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank You

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    What version of RedHat are you trying to install? What kind of video card is in the laptop (how old is the laptop?)? Older versions of Redhat may or may not be able to handle the newer video cards.
    Now, does the screen go black, or, do you see the boot scroll appearing on the screen? Where do you see the running /sbin/loader message?
    Maybe you can give us step by step what you've done during the install. Black screens during installation usually point to a graphics driver not working with a video card, but, that's a guess until we can get some more information from you.
  • mqd500
    mqd500 Posts: 3
    The disks that I have just say Red Hat Linux Fedora Core 2 Software. The lap top is about a year old. The display is an AMD M880G with ATI mobility Radeon HD 4200. That is according to Belarc Advisor. I apologize for the confusion about the black screen. It is the boot scroll. That is where I see the "running /sbin/loader".
  • Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114