Welcome to the new Linux Foundation Forum!

How to connect internet in open suse??

This time i searched google fir this purpose and i tried those methods which i applied to ubuntu but i got no solution.:(

I use DSL connection with dynamic ip addresses.

Comments

  • mfillpotmfillpot Posts: 2,180
    Since you are using a DSL connection, how do you connect do the DSL router, do you use a wired or wireless connection on your computer?
  • I use a wired connection.
  • mfillpotmfillpot Posts: 2,180
    I will assume that you are using an ethernet cable to connect to your router. I have only seen one case in which an ethernet card was not auto configured in a Linux distribution. Can you please past the output of running "ifconfig" and then "lspci" in your terminal on that computer? If you have no network connectivity then you should be able to past those output files onto an USB drive or CD to be transferred to another computer and then paste them here
  • The terminal is not recognizing any of these two commands. It says unknown commands.:ohmy:
  • mfillpotmfillpot Posts: 2,180
    did you try to run them with the sudo command, "sudo lscpi" and "sudo ifconfig"?
  • eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:E0:20:03:FF:8C
    inet addr:192.168.1.2
    Bcast:192.168.1.255
    Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:20ff:fe03:ff8c/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
    RX packets:14 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:62 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:11
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1568 (1.5 Kb) TX bytes:7997 (7.8 Kb)
    Interrupt:21 Memory:dfdfff00-dfdfffff
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:62 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:62 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3500 (3.4 Kb) TX bytes:3500 (3.4 Kb)
  • 00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE/PE DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 03)
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82845G/GL[Brookdale-G]/GE Chipset Integrated Graphics Device (rev 03)
    00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
    00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
    00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
    00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-M) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 82)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL (ICH4/ICH4-L) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801DB (ICH4) IDE Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
    00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801DB/DBL/DBM (ICH4/ICH4-L/ICH4-M) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)
    03:01.0 Ethernet controller: Hangzhou Silan Microelectronics Co., Ltd. Device 2031 (rev 01)
    03:02.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Video Capture (rev 11)
    03:02.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Audio Capture (rev 11)
  • mfillpotmfillpot Posts: 2,180
    Your output from ifconfig is showing that opensuse correctly detected your ethernet card and is using it, it was given the address 192.168.1.2 from your router. So the operating system itself is correctly connected to your router.

    I think that the issue is with your router.
    Can you please post the ouput of the following command here so we can see how the communication is between your computer and router.
    ping -c 4 192.168.1.1
    
    ping -c 4 www.google.com
    
  • The ping statistics for the first command---

    PING 192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1) 56(84) bytes of data
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=128 time=4.77 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=128 time=1.96 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=128 time=2.09 ms
    64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=128 time=2.36 ms
    --- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
    4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3012ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 1.965/2.796/4.770/1.149 ms

    For the second command, it said unknown host.

    This time i configured the DSL settings and selected > connect to the internet manually.
    Now i m not finding the application to connect it.
    :(
    I would like to ask one more question here.
    A couple of days ago, my windows XP got corrupted so i formatted the C drive and reinstalled it.
    At that time,I had installed ubuntu along with it which got lost and was overwritten by the windows setup.
    Is there any way to install XP without affecting ubuntu in one way or other?
    Or is it possible to retrieve ubuntu after installing windows?
  • mfillpotmfillpot Posts: 2,180
    I do not know what settings you modified to tell it to connect manually, an automatic connection is what you need. Hopefully a opensuse user can step up and help you to find those settings again and correct them.

    So from the output your network connection is configured correctly, you can talk to your router. and Since you system is connected to a DSL modem that is considered a local network, you will not need to modify an preferences in reference to a DSL, you only need to tell your system to automatically detect all network settings. So some settings are incorrect wither in your installation (default gateway or DNS server) or in the router/modem itself.
    As for the windows problem, the potential to retrieve ubuntu is based upon the question if your windows installation overwrote the ubuntu partition. If windows did not overwrite the partition then you should be able to use an ubuntu liveCD to chroot into your installation and reinstall the grub bootloader to the mbr. I cannot give you instruction because depending on the version of ubuntu you have installed it chould be grub (ubunutu 9.04 and less) or grub2 (ubuntu 9.10). I would recommend doing a google search for those instructions. For future reference whenever you install windows it overwrites the mbr and whatever bootloader you have installed, if you plan to keep using windows and reinstalling it you might want to print the grub recovery instructions.
  • :woohoo:
    I have connected internet to opensuse with kinternet

    But this time i m scared that it is updating its packages because the system monitor is showing rapidly increasing bytes recieved,
    Now what to do and what to configure??
    I have unchecked a few auto-updates but its not working.
  • mfillpotmfillpot Posts: 2,180
    As you may know, I don't run opensuse because I have had bad experiences with it and I don't like many of the ways they do things, so I cannot help with issues about the branded components within it. That question about auto-updates would be best answered with a new thread in the opensuse sub-forum, we have run through this thread so long that others may not be willing to view this thread and see your new question.

    As for the received packets they may only be the standard network communication packets that always transverse your network. If you are really worried about the packets you can run tcpdump or wireshark to grab and analyze the packets. You can also run netstat to view thae status of network ports on your system.
  • This tutorial shows how to connect the Suse box through the windows box to the Internet:

    http://opensuse.swerdna.org/suseics.html
  • If you are running the Sudo command, make sure that you have the Sudo package.
  • @Vortex

    You have just replied to a post from 2009...
Sign In or Register to comment.