Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

LINUX username

Hello everyone!

So, I could really use some help...

We bought this new laptop today HP625, and got Linux with it. SInce I'm really new with this operative system, of course I have some troubles from the beginning :/

SO, I've turned on the laptop, when start-up was over, I had to log-in into Linux, and it asks me my username and password. But I don't have any!

What shall I do? Anyone?

Thanks

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    You should contact the retailer that sold you the laptop. Usually when a Linux system is pre-installed on a computer, the first thing that comes up is a prompt asking for you to set up a User-name and password. If you can't get an answer, we night be able to help you reset both the user name and password, but it's usually easier just to find out from the seller.

BTW - There were no instructions that came with the laptop? A setup guide?
  • saqman2060
    saqman2060 Posts: 777
    I agree with goineasy, the manufacture should supply a user guide with the system and a limit user account. Call the manufacture.
  • marc
    marc Posts: 647
    In this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mUFF5G4ZhfY

It says you should be able to set the user accounts on the first run :S

It is strange that it came with a user predefined.

Keep in mind this is not a Linux fault, imagine that you tried to login into Windows and had no user account :S
  • ben
    ben Posts: 134
    I don't own an HP625 as you but I know what HP does with their devices with Linux.