Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Suggestions for a career in Linux

I am wanting to start a career in Linux. I am thinking about becoming a Linux system administrator, but I would like to take whatever job I can in Linux until I reach the skill level to become an administrator. I am very new to Linux and the only education I have that would help me so far is HTML and some CSS. I know that I need to learn LAMP, but what methods does anyone suggest about learning Linux and everything that comes along with it? I live in Austin, TX. Are online classes any good or should I just try to self teach with books and asking questions on here?

How long would it take to learn enough to become something in Linux.

Comments

• proxy
    proxy Posts: 3
    Start as an IT tech as I did; there are a lot of good online courses (College?/Certifications?/Community College?) for a broad range of fields involving computer systems and all that. From there, there are other "routes" to choose from that might interest you......Good Luck! Peace!
  • marc
    marc Posts: 647
    LAMP is just Linux + Apache + Mysql + PHP.

You can be a *great* linux sysadmin with knowing almost nothing about it (although in some environments should be usefull)

Anyway, the info you need is out there, on the internet.

Try the LPI courses for a start (you can just buy a book and start studying a little bit )

The thing you need the most imho? ¬°¬°¬°COMMAND LINE!!! get comfortable with the command line!!! (usually bash on linux)

Regards
  • atreyu
    atreyu Posts: 216
    marc wrote:
    LAMP is just Linux + Apache + Mysql + PHP
    or for me, Linux + Apache + Mysql + Perl!

Yes, knowing how to do things from the command line is great advice. To be a good (FILL_IN_THE_OS) systems administrator, you should know the basics, e.g., how to:

- Network PCs together

- Apply updates to the system

- Set up and manage user/group accounts