Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Advice as usual...

I can't say I am a newbie, but I am still learning linux...currently I am using lubuntu 10.04, very smooth and light, but, there are somethings I would like to change which brings me to me question...best terminal to use to replace lxterminal?(not gonna lie, it for vain reasons).

Comments

• marc
    marc Posts: 647
    That depends ;)

gnome-termina, konsole, urxvt, urxvt-tabbed, xterm,eterm.... there's plenty of terminals out there ;)

Regards
  • asedt
    asedt Posts: 96
    Whats is the problem with that terminal?

Maybe you don't need an other one try using the Virtual console (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_console) that is Ctrl+Alt+F6 (F1-F6) to enter the terminal and Ctrl-Alt-F7 to go back to GUI.
  • Thank you...I will check them out.
  • well, lxterminal is very...plain. I like transparency, I look a huge font database...you know, just change the tangible behavior.
  • atreyu
    atreyu Posts: 216
    rabidvillain wrote:
    well, lxterminal is very...plain. I like transparency, I look a huge font database...you know, just change the tangible behavior.
    Eterm is pretty darn sexy (supports transparency, etc.) but it can be a bear to install, if all the dep packages are not in the repo of your distro.

personally, my fave is urxvt. it is light-weight (versus gnome-terminal, etc.), yet very customizable. I install that and some good TrueType fonts w/hinting (Liberation Mono, Bitstream Vera Sans Mono), put some quick customizations in my .Xresources file, and i'm happy.
  • mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    I run urxvt and konsole, both have their place, but konsole is my favorite because of the ctrl+shift+v paste function which helps alot when using wget to grab tarballs from the net.

Although yakuake is an awesome konsole emulator which calls a terminal from the top of the screen, it is much easier to call and hide for when it is needed.
  • marc
    mfillpot wrote: