Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

which operating system

Hello .....I have never used Linux before and think it is a great system.

I downloaded Ubuntu desktop edition 10.10 32 bit on disc remembering to tick box in internet options..allow active content to run from cd..

I will install it ...after I find out what else I need to use.

My needs are

Mail

Information from websites about either technical stuff or just the weather or google earth

Burn dvd...own ones

YM chat with wife ....very important that one.

I have xp and windows 7 starter....

My question is ...what do I need to download ...programs linux to be able to do what I do now...

Thank you for any replies

Fozzie from

Western Australia:)

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Ubuntu is a good starting point for new users of Linux, although I would choose Mint over Ubuntu. Mint is just Ubuntu made easier, to put it simply. All the programs you are looking for, are in the program repositories of both Ubuntu and Mint and can be installed though each distro's package manager. I may be thick, but I don't understand "YM chat with wife", what is YM?
    Once installed, adding programs/apps is easy in Linux, and, above all there's no charge. Internet Mail is a no brainer, lots of different ways to do mail. GoogleEarth, I have running and is avalable straight from Google, although I think Ubuntu and Mint have points in their repos for it. DVD burning software has many different choices. I use k3b, and I'm very happy with it. Google talk is working on my firefox, even the video version, if that is what your referring to.

Any other questions, feel free to ask.
  • Fozzie54
    Fozzie54 Posts: 5
    Thanks Goineasy9
    My apologies I am the thick one YM is Yahoo Messenger its free and I use it instead of telephone to talk overseas
    Video chat ...when my new laptop can handle it more than 10 minutes.

So if I use either Mint or Ubuntu ..download it ...install either operating system