Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

HELP ME!

I am completely new to Linux. I have heard so much- all good- over the years about it, and intend to use it for all my needs in the future.

I have a HP Notebook that came with Windows Vista Home Premium installed on it. I used it problem-free for about 2 years until recently. Now the HD has crashed and gives me only black screen of death upon powering on. I have yet to find a way to save my files. I intend to install all Linux products on it now, but I am hoping to find a way to get in and save my files first.

Yes, I know, backup backup backup, but I never did.

Is there ANY hope for the things on my HD?

Thanks so much.

JR "Bobby" Nevins.

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Most Linux based live CDs can read the windows partition to transfer the data to an external hard drive.

As for installing a Linux based distro, as long as that "Black Screen" you are referring to is not from a hardware error you should not have any problems installing a Linux based distro onto your laptop.
  • vtel57
    vtel57 Posts: 164
    Sadly, Bobby, if it's truly a failed hard drive, that means the the drive itself is no longer functioning. No operating system will help you retrieve your files on that drive. If they are critical to your every day life, you can pay a company to retrieve them for you. It usually runs $300+ USD to have that done.

They have to physically disassemble your defective hard drive and install the platters (disks) into a jig on their bench which can then access the data. It's a complicated hardware/software endeavor; not to be tried at home.

Best of luck with it.

~Eric
  • I am not sure if it's a hardware failure or not.

I will describe exactly what happens when I power up, maybe you can offer some more insight.

Upon powering up, the initial little field at the bottom with the animated left to right dots appears as normally would, but windows doesn't boot up.