Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Help with colletcl tool

Hey Guys,

Im fairly new to the world of linux so I need a bit of help. Im currently using a tool called collectl (http://collectl.sourceforge.net/) to gather sone I/O information about a Red Hat server. Ive figured how to capture the data but my problem is I really need to get the results into a CSV file for Excel.

Has anyone on this forum any experience using collectl and if so can the data be exported to a CSV file?

Thanks.

Comments

• I'm actually the author of collectl! Personally I don't like csv formatted data because I find it a pain to parse and most utilities that read CSV also read space separated data so that's the default when you with with -P. If if you include -f it ill write to a file in that directory. BUT if you really want csv data ;), you can use "--sep ','" to tell it to use a comma as the separator instead. Does that answer your question or are you looking for more details?
    -mark
  • Mark,

Thanks for your reply. Where in the command would you use --sep? For example if I ws running

colletl -sd -c10 --P -p/temp

Also there is a chance I might have to gather the data for up to a week, how big do you think the csv file would get?

Thanks in advance.

By the way its a great tool!
  • If you really only care about disk data and nothing more - it's not that expensive to grab more - the question is do you just want summaries of totals across ALL disks or would you prefer data on individual ones? -sd will get you the summary, -sD the details and -sdD both. Anyhow assuming you really want summary as you've indicated above AND if you want it for 5 days, run collectl as a daemon. just edit the line DaemonCommands in /etc/collectl.conf from:

DaemonCommands = -f /var/log/collectl -r00:00,7 -m -F60 -s+YZ

to

DaemonCommands = -f /var/log/collectl -r00:00,7 -sd -P --sep ','