Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Choosing a Match Distro

Hi all,

I'm new in using linux and i want to migrate since linux is free and I don't have much money to buy windows.

i'm confused my much distro of linux. my friends suggested me to use ubuntu 10.04 so I tried to install it to my laptop but then it's failed. now I'm looking for distro that match for my laptop and my school activities also for gaming.

my laptop's components :

system manuacturer : HP

model : CQ41-224TX

CPU : Intel Core i3 M350 @2.27Ghz

Memory : 2 GB DDR3 SO-DIMM 7-7-7-20 4-27-6 1T

Chipset Model : HP Core(Auburndale/Havendale)DRAM Controller

Disk Controller Model : HP P55/PM55/3400 4 port SATA AHCI Controller

Audio Device Model : HP RV730XT Audio Device [Radeon HD 4670]

Ethernet Adapter : Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter

GPU : ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4350

games :

world of warcraft, halo, devil may cry 3-4

I also like to do some programmings.

my questions :

1. what is the most suitable linux distro that i can install/use?

2. can I have all drivers installed correctly if I use linux?

3. can i play those games as well as in windows?

thanks for helping me in advance,

regards,

-anwar-

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Ubuntu is a good distro for beginner, but the chances are that whatever kept ubuntu from working on your system may also hinder other distros. Rather than jumping around it would be valuable to figure out why ubuntu did not work and correct the configuration issue that is causing you problems.

2. Ubuntu and most linux distros should have nearly all drivers necessary built into the kernel, I know for a fact that your wifi drivers are built into the kernel and will work out of the box, but I have had mixed results with ati video cards.