Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Mounting USB wireless adapter and hard drive

grammjr
grammjr Posts: 35

I have a Linksys wireless G USB adapter. When I plug it in nothing happens, how do I install this hardware.

I also have a Vantec external USB hard-drive and when I turn it on it says it cannot mount the drive. How do I get this mount this drive. It is formatted NTFS, my windows back up drive.

I am very new to Linux and cannot find this information i the helps. Please keep it simple.. I can do command line :(

Thanks

Jim

Comments

• marc
    marc Posts: 647
    grammjr wrote:
    I have a Linksys wireless G USB adapter. When I plug it in nothing happens, how do I install this hardware.

I also have a Vantec external USB hard-drive and when I turn it on it says it cannot mount the drive. How do I get this mount this drive. It is formatted NTFS, my windows back up drive.

I am very new to Linux and cannot find this information i the helps. Please keep it simple.. I can do command line :(

Welcome to the world of Linux Jim. Don't be afraid, every thing seems awkward when you start on this world and you come from the Windows world ;)

First of all, it would help us a lot if you could tell us which linux distribution you are running.

I will assume you are using ubuntu...

For your wirless adapter... this is probably gonna be a bit difficult. First of all, make sure the device is detected by the kernel:
    sudo lsusb

And check for your device. You can also have a look at:
    sudo cat /var/log/messages

And check if the adapter is recognized or if it tells you any usefull information.

If you are running a linux distribution using Networkmanager to manage your network(like ubuntu does), it should work out of the box unless there are any problems. You should be able to see wireless networks clicking on the networkmanager applet.

Now, let's go for your external hard drive.