Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Linux Distros - Took the quiz, need input

I've narrowed my choices down with the help of the Linux Distro Quiz and here's what I was recommended:

100% - OpenSUSE

95% - Mandriva

95% - Linux Mint

95% - Kubuntu

95% - Ubuntu

90% - Fedora

I'd like to put this on a laptop (HP DV1000). It's a bit old but I think it can run it. I currently run Windows 7 on it and it runs OK. It only struggles a bit when running some of the more processor intensive applications. Basically, I need to be able to do the following:

- Word Processing (Basically, everything that OpenOffice or Microsoft Office Suite does)

- Some basic photo editing (though I shoot in RAW so this may be out the window -- I currently use Photoshop Elements)

- Possibly connect my Zune to it. I don't know if there's any support for it on Linux but that would be great

- Network Testing

I'm currently a student majoring in telecommunications. If there's a set of tools I can use to do some network testing or anything of that sort, that would be great. I've looked into BackTrack but that build of Linux is very daunting for a first time Linux user.

I'd like to get to know Linux on a more in-depth level as all my experience is simply with Windows (I know). I want to really get a handle on working with Linux from both the client-side aspect as well as the server-side aspect. I realize these builds may not necessarily be the best for a look at how Linux works on the server side but I guess I'd like to get my feet with with learning the user experience.

Are there any network troubleshooting tools or suite of tools available for these builds?

Well, that's all I can think of right now. The rest is just casual web browsing so nothing TOO demanding.

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Welcome to the forum adrianK. If you are new to Linux, I'd try Linux Mint first. It is the easiest to set up and already contains all the extras that make it work out of the box.