Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Stop or delete Nodes on GCP?

Hello,

I would like to know if I could stop my created master and worker nodes to save the configurations on them since I would loose them if the nodes are deleted. I want to be able to go back to them easily to do other labs later without having to start the k8s installation and cluster creation from scratch. Can I just stop the nodes without incurring charges on my free trial account please?

Thank you.

Best Answer

  • chrispokorni
    chrispokorni Posts: 1,418
    Answer ✓

    Hi @aadeola23,

    Cloud VMs can be stopped, then started back up without losing your work, and to minimize charges. How minimal the charges can be, should be outlined by the GCP documentation.
    Deleting VMs will stop the charges, but you will lose all your work as well.

    Regards,
    -Chris

Answers

  • Thanks Chris.

    Yes, That's what I have been doing so I do not lose my configurations and start all over again.
    Thank you.

    Regards,
    Adeola

Categories

Upcoming Training