Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

HOW DO YOU ENABLE WUSB54GCV3 WIFI CARD?

I have a linksys WUSB54GCV3 network driver and an eth0net cord (not working for me either) and have ubuntu OS.

How do I "install" the card so I can access wifi hotspots?

Comments

• mfillpot
    mfillpot Posts: 2,177
    Can you please post the output of lspci so you can identify your network card and also post the output of lsusb once the usb wireless card has been attached? These details will help us to identify the chipsets and actual cards for use in the resolution process.
  • What are pssic-something and the other stuff?? im a compleate noob, i have the installation CD and everything and see no reason why it should be complicated
  • mfillpot
    Most devices are not intended to work with Linux distributions by the manufacturers generally their only intended customer run windows, in most cases they ship windows only drivers with the devices. And in a few rare cases the hardware itself will not work in Linux or a specific architecture based operating system. Generally if a wireless card is using an atheros chipset it work without any modifications, but some chipsets are a bit more painful in which you must use a program called ndiswrapper to install the window XP version of drivers into linux.

Every Ethernet adapter I have ever tried work right out of the box in Linux, but we need the details about your to see why it is not working and if you need to enable a specific kernel module to make it work.

It is highly irregular that both communication card don't work, but it not unheard of.

What installation CD do you have? and if it is for the wireless usb adapter does it give Linux installation instructions?
  • mfillpot