Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

LFS201 - Chapter 2 Discussion // Questions // Banter

Options

I will try to make a thread for each chapter at some point, it will have the same title throughout the course

I am relatively new to Linux but I thought Chapter 2 was fairly straight forward in regards to the File System Hierarchy

A question for anyone who uses Linux Professionally...

Is there a few particular File Systems it would be better to know like the back of my hand: bin, lib, etc, root, dev, etc.... that is used more vs others, or does it really just depend on the job you have?

Comments

• blackbear710
    Options
  • luisviveropena
    luisviveropena Posts: 1,154
    Options

Hi @blackbear710 ,

I will try to make a thread for each chapter at some point, it will have the same title throughout the course

If you want to do that, I don't see any problem.

Is there a few particular File Systems it would be better to know like the back of my hand:
    bin, lib, etc, root, dev, etc.... that is used more vs others, or does it really just depend on the job you have?

I don't think so. A system administrator, operator, etc., uses and/or work with what he/she needs at the moment. So we use to work mostly with tools (binaries) located in some direcories you can find in the path. For example:

root@starseedstation:~# echo $PATH
    /usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/snap/bin

Many regards!
    Luis.

• Warren67
    Warren67 Posts: 8
    Options

A thread for every chapter is the best idea! I was reading through so much info to see if Lab 4.1 was already asked about. Lab 4.1 seems 100x harder than everything else I read through. I don't understand the questions or solution, even using the legend. Also, by study plan of getting through this course of 44 chapters in 4 weeks, does that not mean 11 chapters per week?

Best regards,
    Warren

• fcioanca
    fcioanca Posts: 1,904
    Options