Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Lab 3.1 - Volume did not finish being create

Hi everyone

I have deployed devstack as per instructions in pdf, on Ubuntu 16.04, KVM with Ubuntu 16.04, 7 CPU and 12 GB of RAM and 40/100 GB disk
on my desktop and also on my laptop - almost identical setups.

I can log in OK, and as a admin i was able to create 1 vm.
During lab 3.1 i created additional user and tried to start another instance. On both setups it comes up with an error message:

Build of instance 4f0542bc-f53c-4686-95d2-cd37d8c82553 aborted: Volume 6731e568-1239-4bc1-a1e7-231979ddfd5a did not finish being created even after we waited 0 seconds or 1 attempts. And its status is error.

Code
Details
File "/opt/stack/nova/nova/compute/manager.py", line 1840, in do_build_and_run_instance filter_properties) File "/opt/stack/nova/nova/compute/manager.py", line 2028, in _build_and_run_instance phase=fields.NotificationPhase.ERROR, exception=e) File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/oslo_utils/excutils.py", line 220, in exit self.force_reraise() File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/oslo_utils/excutils.py", line 196, in force_reraise six.reraise(self.type, self.value, self.tb) File "/opt/stack/nova/nova/compute/manager.py", line 1984, in _build_and_run_instance block_device_mapping) as resources: File "/usr/lib/python2.7/contextlib.py", line 17, in enter return self.gen.next() File "/opt/stack/nova/nova/compute/manager.py", line 2173, in _build_resources reason=e.format_message())

I then tried logging back on as admin to test if its permission/quota or something else, but now i can not create new instance as a admin user either.
Tried googling but below solution did not resolve my problem.
https://ask.openstack.org/en/question/109842/devstack-fails-instance-creation-other-than-tiny/

I reviewed https://docs.openstack.org/devstack/latest/ to see if there are any additional specific options are reuired but i dont see any.

Anyone else saw or had similar issues?