Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Zorin OS and all its versions

Hi,

I'm interested in Zorin OS. It'll be my first time working with Linux.

Zorin has a few versions as of today, Oct. 30th, 2018.
Versions:

• Zorin Ultimate
  • Zorin Business
  • Zorin Education
  • Zorin Lite
  • Zorin Core

If I get the Zorin Core and have it permanently installed on my computer (wiping out the Windows preinstalled on it), and I later decide to add Zorin Ultimate to get all that good extra stuff, would I be able to do that easily without erasing all my files (such as documents and game saves)? Is it a simple thing to download? Or will it be this big series of events? Please help me, I'm confused.

Next question...
I'm new to the Kernel idea, but I read somewhere you can customize your Kernels. With Zorin, could I customize it? Also, with Zorin, would I be functioning as an administrator? (I'm concerned with not having full control of my computer, this is why I ask).

Last question...
On the Zorin website, it says some of the version have a cost. I'm willing to purchase one, but does anyone know if this is a one-time purchase? Or a subscription?

Comments

• Looking at their page again -- I haven't been there for a couple of years -- and the difference in the downloads is really just the software packages that come pre-installed by default. The other difference is Ultimate has more desktop templates ( systems you can make your desktop experience look like, i.e Mac OSX ) and paid support ( hence the cost ).

The others have more business oriented apps or more games and emulators loaded. You can load Zorin Core and then load whatever else you think you might need ( it comes with a LOT of pre-installed stuff which is why some people don't like it)

It's pretty easy to use and my wife who is strictly a menu driven computer user has no trouble doing Browsing, email and some light office type stuff on hers

• @dday35216