Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

New to Linux: Best antivirus and Security suite?

Alir
Alir Posts: 8
edited November 2015 in Linux Security

New-ish to Linux. I have a few questions but it's best if I dedicate each question to a single thread.

I understand Linux is more secure than Windows, but this is a must: What antivirus should I get?

I am also curious to know if I need a complete security suite as you do on Windows. Which firewall should I go for? I want something that is as user friendly as possibly. I am a bit tech savvy, just don't go balls in with a bunch of stuff about kernels and such.

I don't mind a terminal-based security suite/firewall/whatever-else-is-needed. Though I would prefer a gui.

I use Windows a lot and am also interested in protecting my Linux install from any and all threats. Also, any devices I use with Linux, I use with Windows, so you see how an antivirus is necessary.

Currently know of and know how to install:

Avast

ClamAV

Bitdefender (have managed to install it before on Mint Cinammon but the bugger always crashed after starting a scan).

Any other information in regards to security from malicious software as well as network-based attacks is appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• Alir
    Once again, before I get someone trying to convince me I don't need Linux, one of the reasons I want to use Linux is so that I can secure my Window PCs from any viruses. A type of malicious software on my Windows PC was what re-ignited the Linux in me. I managed to use Avast of all anti viruses on Linux to find a kill the bugger. ESET, Norton, ClamWin, SpyBot and Malwarebytes all remarkably failed on Windows in trying to find it. So yes, I do need antivirus!

For those who are unaware of what it did, every few seconds my Windows window would unclick and re-click. It was a pain in the behind for a few months. [Suffice it to say, it took a while for me to realise this wasn't a software or driver conflict].
  • Alir