Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Moving this here

Options

Comments

• LibbyClark
    Options
    I recommend checking out Jack Wallen's Complete Beginner's Guide to Linux

https://www.linux.com/learn/tutorials/784060-the-complete-beginners-guide-to-linux

As well as the Linux.com New User Guides page, which has links to several articles on how to install Linux, choose a distro, etc.

http://www.linux.com/learn/new-user-guides

Good luck!
  • jon wilob
    Options
    CoolioTree wrote:

Get a copy of Linux Lite distro, install it and jump in with both feet. After using it for a while you will be able to get around very well in most other distros. The Ubuntu "Unity" desktop may take a bit more getting used to but many people prefer it to the more windowee look and feel of LL. Try 'em both. Then there's Peppermint Linux-a very easy distro to use.
  • jon wilob
    jon wilob Posts: 11
    edited October 2015
    Options
    CoolioTree wrote:

Get a copy of Linux Lite distro, install it and jump in with both feet. After using it for a while you will be able to get around very well in most other distros. The Ubuntu "Unity" desktop may take a bit more getting used to but many people prefer it to the more windowee look and feel of LL. Try 'em both. Then there's Peppermint Linux-a very easy distro to use.
    You may have surmised I'm a distro hopper...Guess you could say I've never met a distro I didn't like in one way or another.
  • Thinking_Monkey
    Thinking_Monkey Posts: 4
    edited November 2015
    Options
    Quote:
    You may have surmised I'm a distro hopper...Guess you could say I've never met a distro I didn't like in one way or another.

Haha I was wondering how to label myself in regards to my current Linux usage and you've solved the problem for me! I, sir, am now officially heretofore to be known as a Distro Hopper! lol