Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

So Far, So Good

Options

I'm a rank newbie to Linux. I don't even know whether to pronounce it with a long or short 'i'.

The other day I downloaded Linux Lite to a folder. Then I installed Express Burn so I could burn the image to a DVD, which I did yesterday. Today I took my test laptop with Windows 7 on it and changed the BIOS to boot from the DVD drive first and gave it a go. It boots great and works slick as oiled ice. Disk out, my Win 7 boots up the way it should.

The only bugaboo so far is that when I shut down LL, the disk ejects and the process hangs up. I have to then unplug from power and remove the battery. It always boots up fine the next time so I can live with that for now.

After getting a little used to LL, I'll then install it with a dual boot so I can choose either OS. I still need W7 for some things but that's OK if I can get the dual boot done properly. Before I do the permanent install, though, I need to figure out how to extend on to two screens. Without that, this is all academic. So far, it runs duplicated on both but I think I just need to find where to change that.

So far, I like it and will proceed at a comfortable pace until I have a good feel for it. I can see why people like Linux.

Robert

Comments

• mdaprix
    Options
    Short "i", as in "Linux for dinner" :-)

That being said, be prepared for the dual-boot project. I have installed quite a few Linux distros in a dual-boot environment with Win7, 8.1, and 10 (last weekend, actually, with CentOS). Sometimes, grub or lilo will see Windows just fine, but other times it will take some crafty Google searches to figure out why you don't have the option to boot to Windows.

Have fun. Happy nixing!
  • rgand
    rgand Posts: 17
    Options