Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Linux version best for Mobile App server

Greetings

I am very new to Linux and would like to know the following:

a. Which Linux version will work best as a server for a Mobile App sitting in the cloud and why so?

b. I have been advised to utilize MongoDB as it is open source as well and easily expandable. In your opinion was this a wise decision?

Any advise or tips would be highly appreciated.

Regards,

Kaveek

Comments

• Akdom
    Akdom Posts: 5
    Hi Kaveek,

I'm no big expert, but I would suggest you CentOS or Debian since they are pretty good for a server. Look them up on the internet. They are both kind-of lightweight, intuitive and easy to use. And they both have a great community and are still maintained on regular basis. Both OS are widely used, so you won't hit a wall if you have a problem and most of VPS provider offer them along other OS flavour. Debian is also concervative in their packages version, so you won't get all the latest cool and amazing features for each of your packages, but you are sure they will work and they are (almost :) ) flawless.

I personally use Debian on all my servers.

You may want to ask more specific questions to the ServerFault awesome community concerning server-specific questions if you need help to set up your server (they won't do it for you but they can guide you).

Concerning MangoDB, I tried MangoDB for a week or so, but I personally prefer MariaDB with the TokuDB engine. It is open source, it is an active project, it is way better than MySQL in many ways, and it's fast (with some tweaks, it can fly!). TokuDB offer on-the-fly compression (among many other benefits) which I looooove.

Those are just quick tips, you may want to look on those respective websites or search more information about them on the internet.
  • Akdom wrote:
    Hi Kaveek,