Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Active Directory Alternative

Hey Everybody!

I'm brand new to this community but have been using the GNU/Linux Operating System casually for several years now. It's just been more of a novelty than anything else. I am a Windows admin and have spent most of my life learning 'The Microsoft Solution'.

...then I saw the light :)

Now, I'm in the process of having an article published in [...] Magazine that bashes Microsoft's absurd licensing schemes. Microsoft has let me down on so many different levels. I'm now committed to learning 'The Free Software Solution'. I suppose I'll have to replace my dark art of VB scripting and .NET application development with shell scripts and Python - oh well.

Anyway, on to my question! In an attempt to be able to design a network that meets the needs of a hypothetical small business, I'm trying to find an alternative to Microsoft's Active Directory. Despite my animosity towards Microsoft, they do make some pretty powerful products - Active Directory being one such product.

Now, using the GNU/Linux Operating System in a business environment is quite different than me making the switch to Linux at my home.

• How does a Linux domain work, or is there such a thing? (ie: can I join a computer to a Linux domain like in Windows)
  • Is there an alternative to Group Policy?
  • Is there a single tool or set of tools to manage LDAP users and groups, DNS, DHCP, RADIUS, IPSec, etc...?
  • What are some resources I can read or interact with to assist in my understanding of managing these topics on the GNU/Linux platform?