Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

Which is best for me?

JustNoobIT
JustNoobIT Posts: 2
edited March 2012 in Getting Started with Linux

I have never used linux before, but have been a windows user for years. I want to try something new, and I know Linux is well liked, and free. I heard I can run linux while using windows from a USB Device. I bought a 16GB SanDisk, will this be suitable? And, which OS would be best fit for a USB and is easy to learn to use? I eventually want to have enough confidence in my use of linux to completely remove windows from my computer.

[EDIT] I decided to try Mint KDE. I watched a tutorial, and decided to use Universal USB Installer and installed mint to my usb but is this the actual OS? or is this to install on my hard drive? I have a 1TB hardrive i've split this into two partitions one 100gb(for windows) and one as 900 GB (for musc, movies, etc.) but both are already NTFS with files. Will partition wizard allow me to resize the 900 GB to 800 GB without loosing my already exsisting files? (creating 100GB free space) If it can I would try to install mint to the third partition.

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    Usually when you download a usb edition of a distro, it's a live version that you can use for testing purposes. It also has an option to install it to the hard drive. YES, it is the actual OS, but, you won't be able to save any of the settings or changes you make while running it. It's possible to actually install it to a usb stick with something called "persistence", that will allow you to use it off of the usb stick just like you would if it was installed on the hard drive, but, that's not something you do until you're a bit more experienced.
    Most distro come with LiveCD's/LiveUSB iso's and contain most of what a default install will include. One uses these iso's to test the distro, and see if the hardware you have works before installing.