Welcome to the Linux Foundation Forum!

total newbie!

Please help in neophyte terms! Ha.

Just acquired an old IBM T43 from my company with no OS. How can I get this machine up and running? I am really only interested in email and surfing the net.

Anything I can do that's easy, free, and affective? I heard Linux was the place to go.

I assume I have to acquire a CD or something?

Thanks,

MB

Comments

• Goineasy9
    Goineasy9 Posts: 1,114
    edited December 2011
    I have an old Thinkpad G41 that seems to be able to run any version of Linux that I put on it, so, your t43 should work ok.

Any Linux distro will allow you to do mail and surf the internet, and, there are many threads here that focus on the pros and cons of many Linux distros, but anyway, I'll see if I can start you off.

I would usually tell a new user to try Ubuntu or Linux Mint, but, because of the recent switch in Window Managers, at present, they may not be the best to try. I started off with PCLinuxOS and Mepis, and, as far as I can see, these two distros still are new user friendly and have few complaints.

The PCLinuxOS distro can be downloaded here: http://www.pclinuxos.com/?page_id=10 As far as I can see, the KDE version is a 700mb Live CD. I haven't used their installer in a while, but, since there is no OS on your Thinkpad, there is probably an option to use the whole disk while doing a default install. I can see that they also offer a Full Monty edition, which comes with all extras and codecs already installed. Having codecs and graphics drivers already installed saves a lot of time and hassle, especially when surfing the internet. Since installing Flash for the internet sites that use it (and most do) is one of the first things one does after the install. If you have a good bandwidth connection, and don't mind downloading a 3.93GB DVD, and, have the hardware to burn a DVD iso, then, I would choose that version.